chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up download new-tab facebook link linkedin minus player Created with Sketch. plus twitter youtube


Visit Victoria is governed by a Board of Directors that represents the diversity of industries that make up the visitor economy.

Janet Whiting AM, Chair

Janet is the head of Gilbert + Tobin’s Disputes + Investigations practice in Melbourne.

Janet is recognised as one of the pre-eminent commercial litigators in Australia. Janet’s client portfolio includes global corporations, ASX top 50, governments and regulators.  

Janet is the current President of the Council of Trustees of the National Gallery of Victoria, the first woman to hold the position since the Gallery was founded in 1861. In 2015, Janet was made a Member of the Order of Australia for her significant service to the community through the arts, health and major events sectors and as a legal professional. She was inducted onto the 2015 Victorian Honour Roll of Women by the Premier of Victoria. Janet was named one of Australia’s 10 Most Influential Women in the Westpac and Australian Financial Review 100 Women of Influence Awards 2015 and won the category for Culture. Janet was previously named one of Australia’s 100 Most Influential Women in the Westpac Banking Corporation and Australian Financial Review ‘100 Women of Influence Awards 2012 in the category of Boards and Management. 

Janet is also currently a director of Hostplus, on the Council of Newman College, The University of Melbourne and Patron of the Stephanie Alexander Kitchen Garden Foundation. Janet’s previous appointments include Deputy Chair, Victorian Major Events Company, Director of National Australia Day Council, Bell Shakespeare Company, Tourism Australia and President of the Victorian Arts Centre Trust.

Deborah Beale AM

Deborah began her working career in the finance industry where she was employed by Merrill Lynch for over a decade. She then moved to Ernst & Young where she specialised in governance and risk management.

Deborah is currently Chair of Hyperion Asset Management Limiter and Hyperion Holdings Limited. She also holds director positions at Western Chances NFP, The Production Company NFP, Pinnacle Investment Management Limited and the Victorian Ports Corporation Limited.

Peter Crinis

With over 25 years’ experience in the hotel and hospitality industry across Australia, Peter Crinis is one of Australia’s preeminent senior business leaders in the travel and tourism sector.

Peter has overseen the development, operations and market strategy for some of the largest pieces of tourism infrastructure in Australia, most recently at Crown Resorts where he was Chief Executive Officer for Crown Sydney and Crown Hotels nationally.  

In 2014, Peter received the Tourism Accommodation Australia (Victoria) ‘Outstanding Contribution to the Industry’ award.  

Janette Kendall

Janette is a company director with more than 25 years of board experience across public, private and not-for-profit organisations spanning a diverse range of industries.

Janette is on the board of Vicinity Centres, KM Property Funds, Tabcorp, Melbourne Football Club, WeAre8, and has previously held non-executive director roles at Nine Entertainment, Monash Digital, the Melbourne Theatre Company and the Melbourne International Festival of the Arts.

Janette has more than 30 years of experience developing and implementing business and brand strategies across multiple sectors and has also worked in China. 

Lewis Martin

Lewis first joined Seven Network as a Sales Executive in 1994 and appointed Managing Director of Seven Melbourne in 2008. He leads the day to day running of Seven Melbourne, and plays a critical role leading sports rights negotiations and broadcast management for the AFL, Horse Racing and Tennis.

Lewis is a Board member of the Royal Children's Hospital Good Friday Appeal, a Director of the Royal Children's Hospital Foundation, and an advisor to Melbourne-based not-for-profit organisations.

Lewis is a Board member of and a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Eddie McGuire AM

Eddie's credentials span four decades in media, sports and events, including 13 years on the board of the Victorian Major Events Corporation. One of Australia’s best-known media personalities, he has held roles ranging from chief executive of the Nine Network to hosting TV’s The Footy Show and Who Wants to Be a Millionaire.

Eddie was president of Collingwood from 1998 to 2021 and was the inaugural president of the Big Bash League’s Melbourne Stars. He is Chairman of the Michael Long Learning and Leadership Foundation, and in 2005 he was made a Member of the Order of Australia for his service to the community.

Lyndsay Sharp

With more than 35 years’ experience in journalism, marketing and public relations, Lyndsay heads up all things marketing, sales, and customer experience across four of the most dynamic ‘products’ on The Bellarine Peninsula – Jack Rabbit Vineyard, Flying Brick Cider Co, Leura Park Estate and Curlewis Golf Club.  

Lyndsay holds a Bachelor of Arts (Melbourne) and Master of Professional Communication (USQ).  Passionate about all things’ hospitality, customer experience and tourism, Lyndsay’s fortes include marketing strategy, campaign direction and copywriting.  She is also actively involved in supporting a number of charities across the Geelong region.  

Lyndsay’s work history has included Senior Consultant with the Clemenger Group (HOLT PR), Journalist with Reed Publishing and Lecturer at RMIT and Deakin Universities.  She was the inaugural Publicist of the Melbourne Food & Wine Festival (1993, 94, 95).  

Lyndsay is a Director of Geelong Cats AFL Football Club, former President of Wine Geelong and is the current Chair of the Geelong Arts Centre Task Force Foundation.